Wood Frogs ...

... take two.

We had so much fun yesterday visiting the wood frogs at Jacobsburg State Park that we simply had to check out another location where we thought there would be some.  Graver Arboretum was our destination and it didn't disappoint!

The vernal pools here were much easier to access as most of them are right along the trails.  But the frogs weren't as numerous as at Jacobsburg.  It was still loads of fun.  We told our neighbor about these frogs at Graver because she loves frogs ... as does her grandson.  I have arranged to take her and both her grandchildren ... male/female twins ... up to Graver on Thursday.  I just hope that the frogs are still at the vernal pools by that time. 

As we were walking along the trail between the vernal pools I almost stepped on the two wood frogs pictured above!  Good thing that I'm almost always looking down as I walk!  We stopped to take lots of pictures of these two and they were very accommodating ... they didn't even flinch when I was quite literally lying on the ground to get my pictures! Richard has the picture to prove it! We were a little worried about them getting stepped on by someone else that we nudged them into the grass.  And still they didn't flinch or come apart!  I love the death grip the male has on the female ... at least I'm assuming the male in on top!

Thank you so much for all the wonderful comments, stars and hearts on yesterday's wood frog.  They are all very much appreciated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.