Tiny Tuesday: Wonders of Nature

Regular followers of my blips will know that I love doing macros (I find them fascinating), but you're probably also concerned about my apparent liking for photographing dead insects. It's not that I particularly like them to be dead (unless they're the stinging sort), just that they're usually better at keeping still than live ones!

Anyway for a while I've wanted to get into more extreme macro work so I've just bought a new toy - a Raynox 250 macro lens attachment. I'd hoped it would work with my existing macro lens to get even more magnification - it brings the closest focus point down from 19 cm to about 4 cm.

This is my first go with it - with a 15-layer in-camera focus stack on a tiny dead moth whose head is only about 1.5mm across. I hope it's not too scary! (The photo is only slightly cropped.) I think I'm going to have lots of fun with this lens. Of course I note that Raynox make an even more powerful add-on lens...maybe one day! ;-))

Many thanks to cathy1947 for hosting TT this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.