Wild Wednesday: Bullfinch Visit

I had a lovely surprise this morning - I'd just got up to make a cuppa when I looked out of our kitchen window and spotted a pair of bullfinches* in the garden looking for their breakfast. It's a few years since we last had a visit from any finches so I dashed upstairs to get my camera, expecting that they'd have done a runner by the time I came back. However they entertained me for 3-4 minutes during which time I was able to grab a couple of nice shots. I couldn't get them both in focus at once, hence the diptych.

So this wasn't planned but I'll tag it for Wild Wednesday, hosted by Cailleach.

(*Confession. I'm not very good at bird ID, I thought they were chaffinches but my Editor put me right when she saw the photos. At least I got the right family!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.