Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tiny...

Thanks to Cathy1947 for hosting TinyTuesday this month.  And thanks to this extremely tiny orange spider for providing me with a suitable subject!  It will be hard to tell from this image how small this guy is, but he would fit on the ink end of a ballpoint pen, probably with room to spare.  Frankly, I am not even sure how I spotted him, other than his bright orange color against the small daffodil bud.  I first thought he was one of those tiny spider mites until he cast a thread of web and took off. Shocking that I was able to get an in-focus shot since I couldn't really see him even through my macro lens - gotta give props to Nikon AF for this one.

I met up with three of my birder friends this morning for a really enjoyable walk along a wetlands area. The Song Sparrows were in full song, as were the spring peeper frogs, and I think we racked up species in the mid-20's.  No migratory songbirds yet, but plenty of waterfowl.  And on the way back, it was warm enough to shed polar fleeces and enjoy sun on bare arms!  

It is bestie Peg's birthday today so we are gathering at 5:30 for a virtual cocktail hour to help her celebrate.  She and her hubby are getting their second vax next Monday so very soon we will all be able to get together in person.  But for today, no celebrations other than the virtual kind - until we are all safe to mingle.

Rain in the forecast for tomorrow which probably means I will spend some hide time.  Probably head to the gym too.  Cases are rising fast in NJ right now, so I am being cautious even though I'm fully vaccinated.

Stay safe, people.  Be kind.  And I'm thinking just a nice, basic dark choco today...

xo
Deb  

And I have gotten an id - this is an aptly named Dwarf Spider, Genus Ceratinopsis

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.