Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Mono Monday - Architectural Glimpes

Okay, so maybe a little stretch on the theme, but my bee house is a clever bit of architecture and it lent itself well to shooting in monotone.  If you look closely, you'll see pieces of grass coming from some of the "rooms" (those are from the grass-carrying wasps) and mud covering the doors of other rooms (solitary mud wasps and/or mason bees).  I have three little bee motels and all of them have some overwintering residents so hopefully I'll be able to see what comes out as the weather warms.

 I also experimented (for the first time ever) with the camera's multiple exposure function.  Not sure I like it, but worth doing some more playing around I guess.  I'll put a 3-shot exposure in Extra.  

Hubs and I took a walk up and down the lane - a nice mile or so.  Birds are singing everywhere now so it's definitely sounding like spring.  And nearly all of the snow is finally gone, so that's a plus.  

Last year on this day I started tracking New Jersey's Covid numbers.  Little did I know where we'd end up when I started - as of today, NJ has had 767,583 confirmed cases of Covid plus another 101,454 "probable" cases.  And a staggering 21,666 deaths.  And while we are doing a pretty good job with vaccinations now, our numbers are currently headed up which is a bad sign and possibly a result of more contagious variants.

So now is not the time to stop staying safe or to stop being kind.  And it certainly isn't the time to stop eating chocolate!

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.