Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Sing...

Sing.
Sing a song.
Sing out loud, sing out strong.
Sing of good things, not bad.
Sing of happy, not sad.
Sing.
Sing a song.
Make it simple to last your whole life long.
Don't worry that it's not good enough for anyone else to hear.
Just sing.

Sing a song.  - The Carpenters, 1973


Today has felt like a marathon.  Should have gone out for a walk but ditched it because it was cold and I was a weenie.  The highlight (major) of the day was talking to Mom and Dad who are hunkered down in Oregon, waiting for their state to enact a stay-at-home order.  

I dipped in and out of the news a few times today but find that I don't have the stamina for a lot of news right now.  I'm feeling a little emotionally fragile so better not to add to the general sense of helplessness.  

As a sort of virtual record, I am going to start tracking the cases of Covid 19 in NJ in my journal daily.  I am doing this so that, at some point, I will be able to look back and see when things shifted to a more positive trend.  

I got attacked on FB today when I commented on a friend's post that I thought calling this virus the "Chinese virus" was inaccurate and possibly contributed to anti-Chinese sentiment (ie xenophobia) and that I thought people stay with Covid 19 or Novel Coronavirus. I was immediately pounced on by some bully accusing me of being anti-Trump (well, yes I am, but that wasn't the point of my comment).It was all very unpleasant and a bit upsetting.  I took the high road by apologizing if I had offended him and wishing he and his loved ones good health.  In my head, I'm thinking he is an ignorant jerk.  But now really isn't the time for more vitriolole, is it?

A short time outside for some "ornitherapy" which turned up this rather jaunty looking Song Sparrow.

Stay safe, be well, be kind.

xo
Debbi

Positive cases in New Jersey as of 2 PM today - 1,914
Cases in Sussex County -12

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.