Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Mr Stinky!

You know it's been a long winter when your heart leaps at the sight of a stink bug.  I was out on the patio, cleaning up some beds and enjoying beautiful sunny weather when I spotted it... a tiny green insect slowly making its way up the side of a pot.  Before you could even say "macro lens", I was on it.  I coaxed it onto my finger than we ran into the house, grabbed the afore-mentioned macro lens and dashed back outside (all the while hoping it would not take flight in the house).  I then took a couple of shot of it on my finger for size context (see Extra - you will see how small it is).  Then it was onto a patch of daffodil greenery in the garden for a few more shots before it disappeared into the greenery.  

When I first went out this morning, I found a dead first year blackbird on the patio.  He must have been scared by a hawk and flew straight into a window.  Probably killed instantly.  He was spread out on the patio just under the window and his feathers were so beautiful that I just had to take a few images.  I make a habit out of not photographing dead things because I find it depressing, but in this case, I couldn't resist.  Then I took him out to the woods where he will become part of the cycle of life.  His death won't have been for nothing because he will end up feeding something.  I will put one of the close ups showing the plumage on his back and one wing in Extra.

Mom and Dad are doing well other than Dad feeling pretty fatigued.  I think they may have felt worse after the first jab.  Anyway, they were planning a quiet day at home, taking it easy.  I suspect they'll be back to normal and on the countdown tomorrow.  #1 Daughter is very, very relieved.  

One year ago today...our state became the fourth in the US to go under stay-at-home orders.  It wasn't unexpected, but it was still very jarring.  And we still had no idea what was ahead for us, which was probably just as well.  I'm not sure how well any of us would have done had we known then what we know now. 

So you know what to do...stay safe, follow your health officials' advice, be kind (to yourself as well as others).  And today I am recommending a chocolate cupcake!  (Because my neighbor baked yesterday and dropped off four perfect cupcakes for us to enjoy last night).  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.