The cordial and soda water table

Because the registrars were away at a workshop yesterday, they were with us today, which made it possible to do the work that was necessary. And in the process have time for “bedside” teaching for registrar, intern and student.

One of those I saw for the first time, has significant movement disorder of a choreo-athetoid nature. An anticholinergic has been prescribed and in theory at least that is more likely to make it worse than better. I talked to them about movement disorders and mentioned that another patient seen recently has a grimace known as schnauzkrampf. This is a puckering or protrusion of the lips so that they resemble a snout. It is seen in patients with a severe form of schizophrenia and I fear that the person I saw today may also have the movement disorder of severe (often in the past called process) schizophrenia.

Unfortunately there is no known treatment. 

I got home to Fidelis Avenue at a reasonable time and went for a jog in Highfield Reserve. Got one or two unsatisfying photos, and when I came in I saw the table rescued from the lowest deck, and the two chairs which had been in a set with another table. We had enjoyed a fizzy drink and snack at this table last weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.