Flower beds

Another day where meetings about the imminent lockdown (from 23:59 tonight) took me away fro the ward almost more than I was able to be there. Fortunately the US senior registrar was here today and was able to see those I couldn't, discuss them with me and do the practicalities that needed doing. It will be a different matter tomorrow as she is seconded to liaison psychiatry service on Thursdays.

The day ended with a meeting by Zoom of the more than 20 DAMHS for the country, called by the national Director of Mental Health. The problems are often the same and yet at other times, very different. One of our number talked of a judicial hearing where the judge was in Nelson, the psychiatrist in Motueka, and the patient somewhere else. All by some app that allows virtual meetings. The judges in Auckland have another system they want us to use, and we are likely to experience the same multiplicity of places, especially if family want to be part of the hearing as well. It will be a bit of a learning curve for all of us.

I took my lunch and my iPad (and my camera, with the newly charged battery) and walked in Pukekawa (Auckland Domain) to a park bench by myself where I enjoyed the hot sun, the flowers, my sandwiches and solved a few more clues in today's crossword puzzle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.