ABSTRACT THURSDAY

I have to say that this shot is just a nod to Abstract Thursday today and I think parts of it look abstract, but I had intended photographing my knitting anyway.

Most of you will know that my right hand has been very painful, but interestingly, I can still knit without it hurting too much - it’s the typing that does it and being a touch typist, my fingers fly over the keys, and that really makes my fingers and the palm of my hand very sore.  I do sometimes dictate what I want to write, but I am quite impatient and don’t want to keep going back over the script to correct it - and there are some quite funny typos.

I was telling another Blip friend who knits - Annieone - that I had bought some new wool and needles and thought a shot of them would suit the AT challenge.  You can never have too much wool, and I know fellow knitters will agree, but I have been looking for different knitting needles too.

I generally use Symphonie wooden needles, but find that I need to keep using an emery board on the points because they can get a little rough - probably because I am quite a fast knitter too - Mr. HCB says sometimes he thinks he can see sparks flying!

I treated myself to some Zing needles - the bright pink and blue ones, but they are quite a bit heavier than the wooden ones, so when I saw that I could get some cubic knitting needles - yes, you heard right - I thought I would try them. 

The blurb says, “The KnitPro Cubics range are recommended for knitters who suffer from “arthur itis”  - he who has a lot to answer for - or other hand pain and due to the unique cuboid shape of the needles they give better grip and greater comfort.”  

These cuboid, single point needles are made from birch wood and they work for me.  I prefer my needles to be 25 cm as I find that the longer ones get in the way of my elbows.  I hope that you can see the shape from the photograph - if you zoom in, you should be able to - along with my latest project, which is a baby blanket - not sure who for yet - but new wool, which is in some lovely colours and is beautifully soft, will be made into fingerless gloves - a nice little project that will keep me going throughout the summer, so if you want a pair, just message me - and if you fancy any of my wool, let me know so I can make you a bequest in my Will!

“SABLE - 
     A common knitting acronym that stands 
          for Stash Acquisition Beyond Life Expectancy.” 
Achieving the state of SABLE is not, 
     as many people who live with 
          these knitters believe, 
a reason to stop buying yarn, 
     but for the knitter it is an indication to write a will,
          bequeathing the stash to an appropriate heir.”
Stephanie Pearl-McPhee  : 
At Knit's End: Meditations for Women Who Knit Too Much 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.