W-I-D-E WEDNESDAY

It’s another beautiful day today and as I type, I can hear Mr. HCB in the garden doing the first cut on our lawn - well lawn makes it sound more wonderful than it is.  It is rather wet and bumpy after all the rain, but needs cutting, so the smell of new-mown grass is assailing my nostrils and making me sneeze.  I have asked Mr. HCB not to cut it too short so that the daisies can still grow for the nectar seeking insects that come into the garden.  Ours will never be a perfect lawn but we are happy with it and certainly wouldn’t want artificial grass.

I think it’s even warmer than it was yesterday, so took our coffee out into the garden and sat with Mr. HCB, which “kills two birds with one stone” as they say.  It meant I could chat to Mr. HCB and also meant that he had a break from gardening, especially as he had already been out there for a couple of hours working in the sun.  

I decided to try a panoramic shot and caught him just having a little snooze - he had told me earlier this morning he didn’t want to be a super-model and do another selfie today, so I was a bit devious when I took this shot!  He is happy because his new bean supports have been delivered and my new sewing machine was delivered yesterday, so I need to get to grips with that.  

There was no “Girls About Town” programme on the radio this morning although the radio station is still broadcasting, but of course, in the present circumstances, there will have to be changes to the schedule.

We heard yesterday from our son that our granddaughter’s boyfriend has symptoms of the virus, but given that he works at Asda and had come into contact with lots of people, it is hardly surprising.  Thankfully, his symptoms are mild, but they both have to self-isolate now for fourteen days.  She wasn’t allowed to work from home, so having been into work earlier this week, there is the possibility that she could have infected many more people - hopefully that won’t be the case, but that’s why it is incumbent on all of us to take sensible precautions and do what the Government has told us to do:

STAY AT HOME!

Stay safe and well everyone.  Just heard whilst listening to Swindon 105.5 that there is a call for applause tomorrow evening, Thursday 26 March at 8.00 pm to thank all doctors, nurses, carers, GPs, pharmacists and other NHS staff working hard to help those affected by the Coronavirus - I think this should also include all those teachers who have to go into schools to care for the children of these NHS workers.

Let’s all join in and remember:

"Silent gratitude 
     isn't very much use 
          to anyone."
Gertrude Stein

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.