LOCKDOWN CHOCOLATE!

What a wonderful surprise I had yesterday when the postman brought a parcel and left it on our doorstep.  I didn’t recognise the writing on the envelope, but when I opened it, very quickly too, I might add, I was delighted to see a box of Green & Black’s Organic Dark, Milk and White Chocolate Bars.  It’s just a shame that there are 25 bars in total, so that means Mr. HCB will lose out again!! ;-)  

There was an envelope inside addressed to “Mr. & Mrs. HCB” so I thought it must be from a fellow Blipper, but on opening it, I found a note from some very special people - and you know who you are.  Thank you so much, not only for the chocolates, but for the sentiments in the note - you know me so well - and these will definitely make “our isolation that bit more enjoyable” as you say.  We know we can call on you if we need anything and when this is all over and things are back to normal, rest assured that we will be calling in to see you.  

I think many of us will be heartened by all the many acts of kindness that are shown to us at the moment - they may just be small things like someone offering to do some shopping for us, or even a telephone call or a text message - but be assured that this does make a difference and brightens our day, especially now that more stringent measures are in place.  

In fact, Sandra, our next-door neighbour has just rung saying she is going out later and asking if we needed anything - we don’t at the moment, but she has now set up a WhatsApp group with Lynn, our other neighbour, so that we can keep in touch and let Sandra know if we need anything.  

I am hoping to have a virtual coffee with Jo, my friend, and the Girls About Town Presenter,  and it won’t even cost us a penny - I wonder if biscuits or cake eaten when online and drinking virtual coffee are calorie-free?  I could even offer Jo a virtual chocolate!

Mr. HCB is hoping to cut the grass today and I have no doubt, because it is a lovely sunny day, he will be in the greenhouse too - we have decided not to go for a walk as we are expecting a delivery later, but you will see from the selfie I've put in as an extra, that we had our early morning coffee in the garden and very pleasant it was too!

Things are changing for everyone but if we all do our bit, we will get through this.

“Do your little bit of good where you are; 
     it's those little bits of good put together 
          that overwhelm the world.”
Desmond Tutu

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.