THE GREAT ESCAPE - 75 YEARS ON

During our service at Church this morning, and with the blessing of one of our Elders, who was leading the service -  in case you should think we were trying to get out of hearing the sermon - several of us went on a Prayer Walk in the vicinity.  Most people went in a group, but I wanted to go on my own, and on the way round took several photographs - not that that surprised anyone!

We were asked to give feedback on our return, and my photographs helped me to remember what and for whom I had prayed on the way round.

After the service we had a Bring and Share lunch, producing a variety of food - and amazingly, there is always enough and to spare - to which about twenty people stayed, so we didn't go out for our usual "dereliction" car ride.

During the week, in fact, on our way to Waitrose, I had seen a pile of huge concrete slabs where a car park was being demolished, but when we got there today, it had been reduced to much smaller rubble, so wasn't that good for a photograph.  I thought the name of the contractors was quite appropriate - see extra - although not sure what they would be salvaging from all this rubble.

However, as I wandered along the perimeter fence of the area, I saw this hawthorn flowering.  Having heard on the radio this morning that there would be a service today in Poland to commemorate the 75th anniversary of the "Great Escape" from the World War II prisoner of war camp Stalag Luft III, that took place on the night of 24/25 March 75 years ago, I thought that today this shot was also rather appropriate, with the fence in background and you can also see some of the rubble.  

Hope you all have a good week - I'm off to Bath tomorrow for a Blipmeet!

"I learned that courage 
     was not the absence of fear, 
          but the triumph over it. 
The brave man is not he 
     who does not feel afraid, 
          but he who conquers that fear."
Nelson Mandela

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.