Teloschistaceae (how would you pronounce it?)

We were expecting a sparkling sunny day according to the forecast. It was indeed very bright early on but clouded over as we were out on our walk.

It deteriorated even more in the afternoon becoming cold, overcast with drizzle in the air while I was at the allotment. I intended to plant my spuds; in the end I dug the last of the leeks and forked over the soil where they had been growing.

Walking along Otham Lane we passed a lovely ragstone wall, it must have been 50 metres in length. It was fascinating exploring all the nooks and crannies, identifying the plants and lichens growing on the wall. I’ve included the wall as an extra.

The main blip is of the fungus Teloschistaceae (or so the apps says, you’ll tell me if it’s something else) which is prolific on some trees and absent on most. I’ve included it as a submission for Abstract Thursday hosted by Ingeborg as the detail is abstract and fascinating. Thank you Ingeborg for hosting the 300th Abstract Thursday.

Edit: now I’m confused as further investigation shows it is Xanthoria which is part of the Teloschistaceae family: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xanthoria, and is the same as posted by Knottman2 recently https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2821045666564802277

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.