Black Gold

March last year I covered a huge pile of horse manure and straw with carpets and let nature take its course. Today, in the best of the weather I uncovered the pile to find this lovely heap of well rotted compost some of which was mixed with spent tomato compost and chicken pellets to line the bottom of the potato holes.

Next to this bin is next year’s compost in the making, you can just see the green surplus leaves of some leeks, if we’re still living in Bearsted

I managed three rows of earlies today, one each of Swift, Casablanca and Aran Pilot. Instead of digging a trench I just dig a hole, chuck in compost, then the spud and back fill, ridging up to finish. I would have planted more if people had t come over to talk....

The morning was the best of the day. By the time we went for our walk it was raining hard and most unpleasant. It had to be done. Hopefully, it’ll be a better day tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.