With Love from Carlsheaven

That was a remarkable day. Long, unpredictable and fatiguing. Aurora was going to bring us at least a sunny morning. So I enjoyed reading Binswanger on Her Life-Quilted Divan. The window wide-open. Breathing in the freshness. Tones of birdsong and warming sun. I couldn’t resist Whatsappcalling Mischa. So sorry, if I might have frightened you, Dear Mischa, calling so early on a direct line.
But I presented myself with a sunny laugh. Enthousiastic, and feeling so good to tell you about this renewal of life. And every wonderful moment does count, as you confirmed. So I could read, do some chores. Until in the beginning of the afternoon, the doorbell rang.
It turned out to be an appeal for help by the nursing aid of our neighbour Frau O. I came with, trying to understand in broken Polish what had happened. The white neighbourhouse is  not so near. I never had  visited the nice old widdow (95) . Only a few days ago she and her Polish housenurse had been walking over the sidewalk. I could hear them talk. But now apparently something had changed.
The old lady had sunk through her knees, while underway inside. And there she sat. Impossible to get her upright. In the end we managed to get her in an armchair. After drinking water I gave my phonenumber in case and left. Within an hour the Phone rang. Again, it happened again and  the Polish nurse was desperate. This time it was clear that action had tob e taken. After a lot of deliberation, I could urge the old lady’s son to come immediately and have him warn the Alarmnumber.
Clearly this had been going on for several days already. But now she is transported to a nearby hospital for observation. Home again, I felt tired. Memories about my father and my mother. And thinking about Willemiens great worries and fears for old age. What had happened to her parents. So the day ended in complete contrast to its sunny start. This vulnerability of individual life. Love, illness, inevitable death. Only the sun apparently went its course unaffected by our life-events. I just could catch a glimpse of a red setting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.