carliewired

By carliewired

Uji Friendship Garden

I have a nodding
relationship with a place
I have yet to see

~ carliewired

I don't know how it is arranged to have a 'sister city' but Uji, Japan is one of ours. I know little about Uji other than it's known for its ancient shrines and temples and its green tea. In 1990, Kamloops and Uji became sister cities. Ten years later we had the Uji Friendship Garden. 

Annually, students from Japan come to visit our city. The exception has been in years of great trial, like our pandemic and a summer of wildfires. 

The garden is in a section of Riverside Park in our downtown. It is a favourite location for photographs, notably high school graduation photographs. 

I could not overlook the Canada geese who were grazing beside the river near the garden. 

I thought I could outsmart the weatherman today by arriving in the park after lunch when the sun might appear. It didn't work. I still got a grey sky. I released my quilted heart # 5 and made my way back home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.