Coping well with the wind

This morning we planned to go looking at houses in West Auckland. Got  a bit behond ourselves and the trip was going to take longer than I had anticipated. So we canned that plan.

Did some grocery shopping, and then after lunch I dealt to the overgrowth of the wisteria. This is the epitome of survival. Many years ago when we still in the old villa, I decided to remove a bit of trellis so that I could construct a garden seat with new trellis. In the process of removing the old, I found a root which I started to hack at until told it was The wisteria. ('The' is given since all that has subsequently happened).

If anything the next spring it grew more prolificly and the flowers were superb. We enjoyed The wisteria until we left there 18 years ago. we took a bit of root stock with us in a pot. It was left in its pot and although it appeared to have died we brought the pot to the beach house. And it grew. Then died back, and then grew.

It was finally replanted after we had had the house repiled and moved further towards the road about ten years ago. Slowly it has re-established itself, and is now dominating the road front of the house. We missed the real floral display this last time due to commitments and Covid restrictions. The path under where it has grown has been passable only with pushing aside much wisteria due to my lack of attention to it. After three and a half hours work, it is all now much tidier, and I have seen at least one new rooting to allow transplanting elsewhere.

I've chosen to blip a photo of the petunias in a basket. For the colour and the hint of our view in the background. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.