Roasting

I came to BBQ cooking rather late in life, and rarely went past grilling steak or sausages. The last BBQ we had at Fidelis did have a side sooker, allowing me to saute mushrooms to go with the steak. Due to exposure to wind and rain (despite a cover and being partly under shelter) rust has added iron to our diet and fragility to the BBQ. It will stay where it is.

The main photo today is of the replacement. Until today, I had not venture beyond my comfort zone. Having bought a butterflied leg of lamb, I read through the instructions in the Weber book, and worked out how to adapt it for the piece that I had. 

Three stages: Preheat the BBQ on full strength three burners, with the lid down. Takes almost no time to achieve a high temperature under the lid. Then sear the meat both sides for about 10 minutes, before turning the middle burner off and the side burners down and roast the cut for about 15 to 20 minutes (I chose 15). This photo was taken during the third and last stage.

A successful first attempt, and there is no cooking smell inside, nor two of us trying to work in the tiny kitchen.

Earlier this afternoon I went for a jog along the Pipeline, during which I heard then saw a Tui. It allowed me only one photo, and then flew away into the dense bush

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.