Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Experiment with depth of field 2

This morning when sitting outside in the courtyard having breakfast I thought we were going to be in for some rain. There was not a patch of blue sky to be seen through the dense cloud cover. But within a couple of hours that had all blown over and we were bathed in sunlight once again and there had not been one drop of rain. It turned out to be a perfect autumn day. I had intended to go down to the Swan River to take some photos in the late afternoon light but called in to see Tara for a catch up and the time slipped away from me and I lost the opportunity. That's cool...the Swan River isn't going anywhere so I can do that another day.

So come evening I was blip-less. As midnight was fast approaching I decided to get the camera out and go for a wander around the house looking for inspiration. I spotted this little deer in my display cupboard and decided he would make a nice subject and I would concentrate on experimenting with depth of field again while also paying attention to composition. This photo of my little deer is the result of about 1 hours 'work'. Tweaking this and that...moving props a mm this way and that way. I enjoyed the process and think that my photography would improve if I gave myself an assignment to achieve and focussed on that...rather than just heading out with my camera and seeing what presents.

This little deer is dear (to me) but wasn't dear (it was cheap). The English language must be strange to people who are not native speakers. I bought it in Jordan as it appealed to me.... I don't know if they are particularly relevant to Jordan and it may well have been imported, but never mind...I liked it and it reminds me of my very brief trip there.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.