Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Breakaway

When I'm staying in Margaret River I find myself outside in the garden photographing birds, rabbits, flowers, leaves...nature in general. Here in Subiaco, Perth I tend to be busier with domestic chores, shopping, and looking after Emily after Kindy, and so quite often I am looking for something to photograph later in the day and that usually means inside. Today I have gotten onto it a little earlier and so have the afternoon light coming in through the window. Emily was happy being an artist while I took this photo...her artwork being abstract through accident rather than deliberate.

This artwork named Breakaway is by Stephen Glassborow who studied in London and immigrated to Australia in the 80's. In 2011 he held an exhibition at Linton and Kaye, a local gallery. I love his work. The women, while always graceful, are also industrial looking with their mechanical joints. What I particularly like about this one is the way she appears to be balanced in space.

I purchased this on the day of my father's funeral....I had been in NY celebrating my 60th birthday when I received the news of his passing. I managed to get home to Perth quick smart but was foiled in my attempts to get to Adelaide by a dust cloud which was circumnavigating the earth as a result of a volcanic eruption in Chile. I was in disbelief that this was happening. I had always told Mum that I was only ever a phone call and a flight away from Adelaide regardless of whether I was in Perth, Cairo or some other far flung destination. Flight after flight cancelled....Oh well I guess it just wasn't meant to be. I had stopped near this gallery to call Qantas...no flights still and so, on an impulse, I went in to see the works and decided that as a consolation to myself I would splurge on this work which I love. It might all seem a little macabre but it's not. I look at this and I think of my dad and that's always a good thing.

I deliberated about what to write for this blip and decided to go ahead with this full account as it is the story which surrounds this image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.