Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Sun worship

The annual Sculptures by the Sea exhibition at Cottesloe Beach opens tomorrow, Friday 8 March. When I called in on my way home from Tom's around midday many of the exhibits were already in situ. In previous years I have enjoyed talking to the artists as they install their work but today I wasn't up to it...I was too tired from broken sleep and it was too hot in the midday sun.

This year most of the exhibits are cordoned off with red and white tape to stop people touching them. Unfortunately last year some lads decided to have a go at stealing one of the larger pieces and damaged it in the process and so it looks as though security has stepped up a notch. Consequently it is difficult to get a photo without it being spoilt by the rather garish red tape. The sculpture in this picture was not affected by the tape but it may well be by the time I return. The ocean today was calm and, with the clear skies, it was a stunning turquoise colour. A perfect day for a swim but not so good for walking around on the hot sand.

Tom has an interview for a position as Chef this afternoon at Suburban Table. He asked me to take his special japanese chef's knife down to him as he thinks it is going to be an actual trial run. Fingers crossed that he is successful as the restaurant is walking distance from where he is currently living, and the hours are about as good as it gets in this industry with the restaurant being open 5 days a week for dinner only. Wow...2 consecutive days off!!!! It also has a great reputation and has a ethos about food which is inline with Tom's.

Nana nap time for me before I collect Miss Emily from Kindy. I don't usually like to have a nap during the day but my recent nights for 4 hours sleep have caught up with me today. Hoping to feel refreshed and ready to go in an hour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.