Rodents rule

By squirk

Health

The text came through yesterday for Fred to book his vaccine and this morning we cycled in the sunshine to Oval. I sat on a bench and waited with the bikes while the army administered the jab. The clinic was right beside the Oval cricket ground.

Cycling there and back was mostly off busy roads and such a dream from Herne Hill to Brixton along a road that was horrendous before it became a low-traffic road. Only buses and residents can drive down it these days, and now it's full of cyclists. Create the safe spaces and change will happen. 

Brixton was buzzing as it usually is, pandemic or no. It was nice to see so much life. I don't mean that it was busy – just more going on than in my corner of London.

On the way back, we treated ourselves to olive swirl pastries from Herne Hill and sat on a bench in Brockwell Park, slightly sheltered from the gusty wind, watching the antics of dogs, kites and kids.

Fred felt off in the afternoon so he had a lie down then asked if I could go to the Cajun food truck for a Po'Boy and cheesy chips. I went via the pet shop where Garfield was visiting. He used to live in the pet shop as a mouser, but he now lives with the pet shop lady. It was lovely to see him – he's a HUGE ginger and extremely friendly. Juno had a long sniff of my clothes when I got home (Garfield likes to climb all over people).

At the food truck, I was given a number for my order. This was unnecessary as I was the only one there. However, I went with it and found a square of sunshine to sit in. I was amused when the guy shouted "89!" I assumed it was my number as I hadn't registered it when I was given the ticket and trotted up. The poor guy thought he'd lost me as the square of sunshine I'd sought out was a little behind the truck. Ah well. It was nice recreating the festival atmosphere in the industrial estate car park by pretending there was a massive queue of hungry people.

Fred was very happy with his Cajun dinner.

In the evening, I really enjoyed watching Nitin Sawhney play with his band from The Globe with an interview afterwards. His new album is here to listen to.

Mum and Rory won back their place at the top by winning at tonight's quiz. I didn't get the flag right – Botswana! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.