Banner in the rain

A bit dull this morning but I set off at 10am to do my solitary litter pick around the usual circuit. It wasn't too bad rubbish-wise, but it comes and goes - various people pop out and pick up rubbish from time to time. I probably collected the equivalent of a full carrier bag in around 90 minutes. I called in at our 'committee' litter pick in the wooded strip alongside the car park at Tesco - the strip belongs to the council - and they had about 10 people out and collected a couple of trolley-loads of assorted rubbish. The big stuff they had to leave behind, as we had to leave it behind last time we cleaned up here; tables and chairs and other large items most of which I think have been tossed over the wall from the flats above. I can't imagine dragging a large coffee-type table out of my house and flinging it over the wall! What's wrong with people? I suppose you do what your parents did! I'm sure than Oban is not alone - it seems to be the same everywhere. I'd love somebody to come on here to say that there is no litter in their town!

I finished my tour at McCaig's Tower which was surprisingly clean - then it began to rain and I got home just in time! After lunch I popped out again to take a picture of our new banner which we've just had put up across George Street.

Quote of the Day:

Britt Ekland - "I would teach U.K. parents how to stop their children throwing litter. London is a beautiful city but its streets are disgusting."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.