One step at a time

It's Keep Oban Beautiful's 'Oban Spring Clean' this weekend, technically. We started this in 2018 and in 2019 we had 100 people out litter picking and filled 300 bags with rubbish. 

Last year we decided to cancel because of the lockdown, but this year thought it worth operating in a smaller way without any real central organisation, just asking people to go out there and do their own thing. I intended to do my usual solo circuit and rake all the leaves and mud off the edges of the 144 steps of Jacob's Ladder while I was at it, but changed my mind and concentrated on the step clearing - I'll do the litter-picking another time. I set off this morning and it took me about three hours with hoe and plastic rake - with a lunch break in between - to do probably 80% of the Ladder. At that point my plastic rake head shattered, and feeling much the same I went home. 

Tomorrow at 10am with have a KOB committee group clearing rubbish along the woodland strip adjoining Tesco's car park - it's actually council land. The mess there is appalling! The big question which hangs over all of this is - how can we stop people dumping everywhere in the town? Do other towns have the same problem?

I watched the 'Hebridean Isles' coming in while I was walking to Jacob's Ladder - here she is approaching the pier for my extra today.

Quote of the Day:

Martin Luther King Jr – “You don't have to see the whole staircase, just take the first step."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.