WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Not losing our marbles

I earned lots of Brownie points today when S managed to drop the expensive car key in our very overgrown garden and couldn't find it. My normal relationship to mislaid household items is that if they aren't where I expect them to be, I am completely at a loss and he has to find them for me. So I was particularly pleased that after he'd spent ages looking, I thought a bit about how it might have fallen, lay down on the ground to look at things from odd angles, and unearthed it from under a mass of leaf mould and twigs in the cold frame. He will never be able to laugh at me not finding things again. We toasted my new status with wine.

Anyway, we had a barbecue in the garden for lunch! First time this year; it was glorious. Duck kebabs, salad, baked potatoes, and strawberries to follow.

This evening we Zoomed with my two younger sisters. N has lived in Brighton for decades, and after many false hopes and fallen-through sales, D has bought a house nearby, in a lovely rural situation between town and university (Coldean, for those who know Brighton). Quite a change after over 30 years in Birmingham. She's only been in a week and it's already looking like home; they are both delighted with the house and its location, and quite glad that the other near misses fell through.

And yesterday evening we watched Aurore (I Got Life! in English), an amusing social comedy starring Agnès Jaoui, one of our favourite French actors, and the delightfully named Thibault de Montalembert (Mathias in Call My Agent) in a late-life romance. Very witty and entertaining. I particularly liked the feminist slant provided by a household of elderly ladies who had pooled their pensions to live in autarky. We watched it on Filmin, but I believe it's available on iPlayer for a couple of weeks. If so, I recommend it especially for the menopausal among us :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.