A little booklet of memories

My third year of teaching was a new adventure at a public school in a town about 7 miles from where we're living now. I moved south from the Canadian Border town in Maine where I had taught the previous two years. It was a team teaching  kindergarten position with a young woman, Mary, who had just graduated from college. We shared a teacher's aide between us, our soon beloved Lois. On Wednesday, Lois will be 84 years old. Mary and I plan a social distancing, masked get-together at Lois' house with a cake, balloons and flowers. I spent the day making a little booklet of memories of our days working in kindergarten together. We had such fun, in the good old days when Massachusetts had kindergartens with programs that were developmentally appropriate. Play based, hands on learning instead of the sit at your desk all day paperwork they do now. It was the early 70s when teaching was fun. The three of us became very good friends and always look forward to being together. We're hoping the weather will cooperate on Wednesday, showers are predicted, unfortunately.

I've included a few of the booklet pages in my collage photo. I may add some other words tomorrow, but it was a fun cut and paste activity rather than my usual digital collages these days.

The Assistant Gas Inspector is slated to pay us a visit tomorrow morning, let's hope he finds things to his liking in the cellar.

For the Record,
This day came in windy and cooler. Neither of us slept well last night, perhaps because of the howling wind, who knows, but we were both very busy and productive today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.