It isn't Lake Rotorua

The water in the background is Kawau Bay. The land on the other side is Tawharanui. The table is on the deck of our beach house in Fidelis Avenue. The cut glass fruit bowl was awarded to me in April 1981, when I was the first doctor to finish the Fletcher Marathon. Despite going ten minutes quicker the following year I was unable to repeat.

The Rotorua marathon is (I believe) unique in that starting and finishing in the Government Gardens it is a single lap around the lake which is the shortest route. There are a couple of significant hills around the back of the course, otherwise it is flat. 

That was a past self. The current self is pleased to be able to run without stopping for longer than I could last month and many months before that. Despite all the stress of selling the apartment, a long daily commute to work, and little luck in finding a new home in the city, I am feeling fitter and more able once more. Perhaps it is because of the stress; I've always managed stress with running.

Yesterday S sorted out some shelves as part of reorganising the entry to the beach house, and there was this bowl rather covered with lots of things. A little forgotten by me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.