Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

Stakeout

Beautiful weather to help celebrate the lifting of some restrictions.
I spent a few hours in the garden tidying up so I didn't feel guilty about going on a stakeout at dusk.

This lovely old barn on private land, has been the roost of barn owls for several years and I've been given permission to go in to watch/photograph them. 
This was my second visit but haven't had one sighting yet.
A young chap runs a timber business from the barn yard and tells me that the owl appears even when he's using a chainsaw!!
The largest hole in the bales is where it comes out and the smaller ones are where it returns.
Any photography is going to be tricky as this portion looks east and therefore will be in shadow long before the sun sets.
Sometimes it will sit in a window on the westward side which of course would be brilliant.
I'm hoping that once any young are hatched, the parent birds will hunt before sundown, giving me the only reasonable chance of a shot.

I won't lie, it is very spooky, with the old building groaning and whistling in the breeze. In time I will get used to it.
By the time I had walked back,  the sun had long set (extra) and I was pleased to be in the car again

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.