Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

First of all something about my blip.....

I have been hugely impressed by some of the astro images on here this week with blippers taking advantage of the cloudless night skies

I've not tried any long exposures for star trails and the like before and, while this is less than impressive, I wanted to include it in my journal to mark my first attempt.

The ISS has been visible for the last several evenings and tonight it's appearance coincided with the fly past of Elon Musk's Space X Starlink. All 38 satellites were visible.
Scrabbling around to find tripod, wide angle lens and a battery with some life in it, I nearly missed the event. (Too busy watching Race Around The World )
Anyway this is one of the few images I managed to take from the back garden. The bold line is the ISS while the fainter lines going the other way, are the satellites.
It's certainly an event that needs forward planning and the ability/permission to get somewhere with an interesting foreground.

In other news, JD, Jorgie and I walked from home to Stover and back in a big loop.Following the green lanes (extra)and paths again, we managed to avoid people. We only passed a handful, giving them a wide berth.
I have never seen Stover so quiet. It might be that people are listening to government's advice and not driving anywhere to exercise. The bitterly cold wind today would have put people off too.
Passing over the River Teign at Chudleigh Knighton, JD spotted the blue of a kingfisher as it flew across the river. Sadly I didn’t see it but I can easily walk here from home on another occasion. It is a well known spot for nesting kingfishers.( My little detour from the bridge to see if I could find a nest sight is even recorded on the map !)

I was aware that my right heel was hurting after just a few miles but didn't dare look until about mile 10 when I had to call a medical timeout. It wasn't a pretty sight! A huge blister.

Once home we checked up on the news. 
Now, it seems, the once a day permitted exercise can only be for up to an hour. :-(  

It would have been Cassie’s 13th birthday today.  I still miss her terribly every day  ❤️

Day total 13.5 miles
Year total 257.9 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.