Coltsfoot - Tussilago farfara

Coltsfoot - Tussilago farfara - A tough little flowering plant that is found from Svarlbad to Morocco. In this part of the world seeing the first coltsfoot flowers is one of the first signs that spring really has arrived. They are usually found on a roadside slope, appearing from stony ground (see extra) or from piles of dead grass (as in last year's first sighting on 27 March).
It was another delightfully warm day today and we sat outside on The Red House veranda for breakfast. We talked about the way plants have been under the snow for 4 months but as soon as it melts they burst into action. A near-blip (flickr) shows the leaves of wild strawberry, both dead from last year and fresh green from this year. That plant was under the snow until two days ago!

After breakfast I cycled down to the shops to buy a few food items we need for Easter, including a couple of lemons needed for my hot-cross buns, which was my late afternoon activity. The dough is resting in a plastic box in a cold place until  tomorrow morning, when I'll bake the buns.
My Electrolux Assistent, which I found second-hand a couple of months ago, stopped working in the middle of kneading the dough, so it was back to manual work for me. Ho hum....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.