An after sunrise view from the Drumsmittal area of the Black Isle. In reality, it wasn't as gloomy as I and the camera have made it appear. Stopped to snap the above scene at the very highest part of the long uphill cycle on the way to work, and the biggest Red Squirrel I've ever seen jumped onto the trunk of a small tree in a narrow windbreak about five metres in front of me. We both paused for about half a minute watching each other, before distracting bird songs from higher up awakened us, and we moved on with our intended tasks. I'd had the camera in my hand, but he (I presume from the size) would only have been a poor silhouette, so I didn't bother trying. Thinking about why he was there a while afterwards, I realised that he'd probably been displaced from the bigger wood that had been, until recently, across the road. Poor soul. Hope he and others successfully settle elsewhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.