Marionb

By Marionb

The Birthday Tree

It has been a fun-filled day - and I have almost run out of time to get a blip posted before midnight! It was a big birthday for me today and my daughter and son-in-law came to celebrate with me. My birthday surprise was a "coupon" to choose any tree at the local nursery and they would purchase it and plant it in my garden today. This was a very special gift. It was to replace a huge tree that I had to have removed back in January. A neighbour in the process of building a new structure, had damaged its root system and the consultant I hired determined that it would have to come down. It was heart-breaking. And it was no easy task getting it removed. Its size and location presented a real challenge. Eventually, after several tries, the answer was a huge crane. (See Extra)
Ever since that day, whenever I look out my window at that big empty space, it saddens me, but now, after today, I have a new tree out there. Planted on my birthday. How neat is that? Makes me smile. Best birthday present ever! May it live long and prosper! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.