Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Gap

A long weekend walk took me along Baildon Bank, down through Shipley Glen and Trench Meadows, along the river to Dowley Gap, up through Nab Wood Cemetery, returning along the main road into Saltaire and  back across the river to Roberts Park. At that point my knee requested a bus back up the hill, so I braved a mile of public transport for the first time since December.

Looking back, I seem to not have blipped the underside of the Dowley Gap aqueduct before, so I thought that would be a worthy subject. It was built in 1773 and is made up of seven arches that carry the Leeds-Liverpool Canal over the River Aire. Three of the arches are dry and can be walked under quite easily, at least once you’ve clambered down. An unusual feature are the stone sets on the ground which are an original part of the design, and protect the aqueduct’s foundations when the river floods. I’ve popped a few more in extras.

It ended up being a sunnier day that expected and warm enough for a few butterflies, all Small Tortoiseshell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.