randomgirl

By randomgirl

The Horses came over to see me

These are some of the group of five horses who live in a field nearby. One day when the pandemic is over they'll start being ridden by people with disabilities - (the organisation that owns them is called 'Riding for the Disabled')

They are really attractive and appealing with their long wild manes and different colour combinations. Usually they just ignore me when I walk past them on the lane beside their paddock, but today I was actually in a field on the opposite side, and I think that made them more curious about me! So they all came over, slowly and one by one, from the other side of the field and waited around for a bit to see if I had anything interesting to offer them. (Which I didn't, because anyway you're not allowed to feed them). I tried to be friendly though, so that hopefully they wouldn't feel like they'd had a wasted trip!

My photos weren't particularly successful because I'm not so used to trying to photograph five different moving subjects. Also I was a bit concerned not to take too long as my dog was waiting nervously at a distance behind me....she has a deep distrust of horses! It was a nice experience though and felt quite special that they all came up to me this time. The black one here even tried to follow us as we walked away.

The horses have made an appearance in my journal once before, as an extra (& wearing their winter coats): https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2811749267432015607

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.