Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Ready, Set...

You’re looking at some of the flower buds on my grizzly prickly pear cactus. It’s a fairly large cactus, about 12 feet in length, and as high as my wall, >3 feet. Buds are covering the thing: on every pad. I suspect many of them will bloom while I’m gone. They’ll be a pinkish-red color and with the right light almost translucent. One of the cool things about blooming cacti is that every species has a different color flower.

I’m still packing for the trek to my casita at the Santa Rita Lodge in Madera Canyon. You would not believe how much stuff I drag up there. I’m not at all confident that I will get any internet this time. I won’t be in my usual casita #2 which contains the router (which I often reset). Last time I was in #8 I got a message to move closer to the router. DUH!

The place is booked to capacity which I am not used to, so I might spend less time at the wildlife viewing area and more time in less popular spots. It’s the forest, birds are everywhere. :-)

Looks like I will be checking in after hours since it’s almost 4:00 already. After I get everything loaded, I still have to stop at Safeway for my charcoal. Lordy, I hope they have it in stock!

Will post when I can. Have a great week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.