Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Madera Canyon: Day 1

The best photos of the day came while I was eating breakfast.  There's a little area next to my casita with remnants of bushes.  I noticed a Yellow-eyed junco picking up a stick (or or several) and flying up to the outdoor porch light of the casita next to me.  He stood on the top ledge, then out popped his significant other.  She let him bring the nesting materials inside.  As he flew out on his next foray, the construction birdie disappeared into the fixture.  Quite an undertaking and so much fun to watch.  

The extras include another shot of the same fella, an Acorn Woodpecker sitting on a hummingbird feeder (but much more interested in nabbing bugs from the air) and a staring contest between two male Broad-billed hummingbirds.  (If there are no extras, the internet wasn't cooperative.)

I didn't arrive until close to sunset last night.  Just enough time to unpack and relax a while. I slept like a rock.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.