Up top under blue skies

Set off for my walk at lunchtime.  It is good that even at weekends and Bank Holidays there are pathways in St Ives Estate with nobody else around - you just have to know which route to take!  Went on the path below the mansion and down past Betty’s Lodge and then into Betty’s Wood.  Walked up the slight hill and took in the views from the top of the pathway.  Then took a right turn to where I could see Bingley Parish Church, Fire Station, bridge over the bypass, and the 3 Rise Locks.  Had to take these photos of the beautiful blue sky today. Still a stiff breeze blowing, but not cold.  Wandered around some of the wood’s pathways then back to the lodge and veered off into the lower park.  As I walked along I only met 2 ladies, and then it was deserted.  I then found a new (to me) pathway that took me right up to the creepy monk carving which I have previously only photographed from across the bog.  He doesn’t look quite as creepy close up, although his face isn’t very attractive!  I continued up the very steep path past a gorgeous bank of double daffodils, and it brought me back out onto the path below the mansion.  Even the pond area was quite quiet so I did a circuit before taking the last path back down to the estate entrance. Lovely to get out as always, and in lovely sunshine again - bonus!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.