Easter Bike ride........... One Day Late

I was going to ride yesterday, but my friend, Alice had a really bad day, for an 80 yr old, she missed her family badly .  I stayed with her till she was better.
       Today, Pam and I rode at Santos.  The top picture is looking up the trail into the forest where 15+ miles are paved for road bikes, or "roadies" as I was called today.
      The bottom picture is a Florida Gopher Turtle.  They are an endangered species here.   They got their name because they dig deep holes to hide out in, lay their eggs, etc.   Since Florida has undergone sooooo much rural development the turtles have lost much of their habitat, along with the coyotes, the panthers, armadillo's,  and many other species. 
      Several years ago, the Florida Legislature declared them endangered.   There is a really hefty fine if anyone is found moving one off their property, including cattle fields, horse pastures, and any other land.  We were really  treated to this photo op today.  They are hard to find.
      A beautiful day, warm with a cool breeze, under the trees, with a manageable number of people out doing what we were.    Afterwards, Pam and I went to Mcallisters for a late lunch salad and delicious ice tea.  
Ahhhhh,  so nice to be showered, laundry going around and my girls snuggled up beside me.      What a good day!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.