Kestrel

My kestrel pair have been hunting over the field today which is understandable since Hubs cut the grasses, which grew wild last summer for scrub cover for birds and animals, there's been exposed numerous vole holes. I saw my female kestrel catch a few small insects but never saw her eat what I would like to think was a substantial meal. She worked hard all day up and down the fields being harassed by buzzards and meeting up with her mate occasionally.

Starting shooting in the frosty dawn inside my tent/hide the light was behind the Kestrels but perfect for the woodpecker however this afternoon I decided in the middle of one of many hail storms to move the hide to a better position. It's now ok for the kestrels but not for the little birds. Swings and roundabouts here. 

Fantastic to see these beautiful birds her at home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.