Forest Wanderers

When I woke up this morning the sun was shining brightly and I thought I'd take my cup of tea and sit outside. By the time the tea had brewed it had started to snow and while I sat (indoors) and drank my tea it really chucked it down, though it showed no signs of settling. See the extra.  This set the tone for the day, which was mostly spent indoors. In fact all my pictures today were taken from inside the house.
 A bit later in the day a young roe deer buck came wandering down the edge of our garden (Jan's blip), and a half-hour later came back up the field with this youngster in tow. The older youngster disappeared into the forest but this one hung around, above our house, chewing on bilberry shrubs. We haven't seen the roe deer for ages, probably because a field covered in deep snow is a lot less attractive than the deep forest with less snow on the floor.  Now the snow has melted away in places they seem to be taking the chance to eat some greenery, rather than chewing twigs. As I'm sure you understand we were very happy to see them again.
We needed some milk so we drove down to the shop (excitement!) and bought a few supplies. At the same time we took back bags and bags of empty plastic bottles and beer tins, all of which have a deposit on them. I think they'd been accumulating in our cellar since the late summer and it was getting a bit silly just how many we had.
I needed some exercise so I elected to walk the 4 kms home. It felt good, even if it did rain rather hard while I was wandering back. Thinking about it as I write I realise this is almost the first time it's rained this year, and definitely the first time I've been out in the rain this year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.