The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

'Glorious Vintage' Jigsaw

Snow covered the land and the trees when I awoke. I'd been having a nightmare in which I was being stripsearched in a shower by an Arabian official, who then offered me the chance to stripsearch him in a shower. Then, in the dream, I was taken to a crummy boarding house where I had to sleep in a chair, while a younger woman was offered a sofa bed...

A violent cheeping and scrabbling inside the bedroom wall, which is also the chimney breast, announced that a baby bird was in trouble. The squeak buttons of seven old-fashioned teddy bears being pressed simultaneously could not have made more of a din. It soon subsided, and the feeling of having stumbled into a horror film receded. (There is only soot in the downstairs grate, I have checked). Then I remembered that today is Wednesday; CoVid test day!

I must have been too rough with myself: there was blood on the nasal swab. But that was all. No CoVid. 'How could this day turn out better?' I asked myself. The answer same to me in a flash: 'Have a shower, get dressed, then put your dressing gown on again.over your clothes'

This I did, and I was warm, and I made g-f Bara Brith (spiced fruit tea bread of Welsh origin), and it rose, which g-f products don't always do. I listened to a Mahler CD, (I've got a load of BBC music magazine CDs I've never even listened to) and Scala Radio, whilst doing the giant jigsaw. My favourite track of the day was called When all this is over, by Dreamers' Circus. No, I've no idea who they are either, I just liked it, and I can't tell you how much I want all this to be over, though I sense it will be years now, not weeks or months.

I have been given an extra slot at the market, the first week back, 16/17th May. Already I'm looking forward to being the Spotify DJ, unless the CD seller stallholder comes back. Of course I will also try to sell some cards. I've got a house full.

In the evening I finished the Giant Jigsaw. It was one of the harder ones. I also watched a very good documentary on Netflix called The Social Dilemma. It's about how social media manipulates us. I like to think I'm immune, but I'm not: I only bought my CD radio because FB suddenly sent me a product video from the company that makes it. I'd been talking to CS a few days earlier about how I loved my tiny portable radio (same brand), and I think Google or FB was listening. Don't get me wrong, I'm happy with my new toy, but who planted the idea?

Also, while I was writing this, I suddenly got a notification from FB re my local Coronavirus support group. Of course, I flew over there to have a look and answer a question: why wouldn't I? Someone is pressing my buttons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.