Helsby Station

I went down to Frodsham Marshes this morning but, for a change I approached from Helsby rather than Frodsham or Ince. I don't recall coming down this way before but I had a look at my geocaching map and I have found a couple of caches down here although I don't remember them.

While the walk was OK I wasn't as keen on this approach so I'm not sure I will use it again. While I was on the marshes I saw a group of birdwatchers properly kitted out in camouflage gear and massive scopes looking for a water pipit which has been seen around here recently. None of them had seen it and I didn't hang around.

The blip shows Helsby Station from the railway bridge on Rake Lane. The line on the left goes to Chester while the line on the right heads up the Wirral via Stanlow and Thornton Station which is one of the least visited stations in the country. I blipped this station on August 10th 2019 when I visited it for a geocache. I just had a look and it had 82 visitors in 2019 and I was one of those visitors (along with 3 others who did the geocache at the same time).

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lands End to John O'Groats 1000 Mile Virtual Challenge Update

Day 59 -  Dorset. 4.3 miles walked. 227.8 miles completed.


I'm 2 months into the walk today and feel like I am making some progress now that I am heading north although it is an unfamiliar area area of the country. Passing Lulworth Camp I handily finished in Wool outside the Black Bear Inn for a virtual southern fried chicken bap and a couple of virtual pints of Romsey Gold from the Flack Manor brewery.. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.