Willow Warbler - 37

After a lot of consideration I have decided this is a willow warbler rather than a chiffchaff. My main reason is the sound it was making. It didn't sound at all like a distinctive chiffchaff. In addition the supercilium (white eyebrow) seems more pronounced than on a chiffchaff and I also think the legs were paler which isn't evident from this photo but seems to be the case on a couple of my rejected photos. It is a tricky one to identify and I'm sure a similar case could be put together to identify it as a chiffchaff.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lands End to John O'Groats 1000 Mile Virtual Challenge Update

Day 60 -  Dorset. 4.4 miles walked. 232.2 miles completed.

Leaving Wool I picked up a virtual packed lunch of flapjacks from the Dorset Flapjack Company and some sandwiches from the bakery next door. The walk passed Monkey World - Ape Rescue Centre (who knew their were wild monkeys in Dorset that needed rescuing). I also passed Boivingdon Circuit and finished near Bere Heath.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.