Wild garlic and cheese scones

I used up the last of the wild garlic and made these scones this morning. They are really yummy.

We were due to go to town to walk with Marion and Ken who live there but they are sick of walking in town so came here instead. We took them through the woods, over the moor, down the steep green lane to the Whittingham road to Thropton, then up Physic Lonnen and home by West Hills. The views were minimal as there was low cloud and mizzle in the air. It was a bitterly cold 5.5 miles with extra wind chill - warm enough while walking, but cold when we stopped for our sandwich. It was nice to catch up as we’d not seen them since autumn due to lockdown.

Mr C will be pleased - we had some caramelised onion sausages left from the weekend picnic so I made a chorizo, aubergine, tomato and chickpea stew flavoured with smoked paprika to which I’ll add the sausages for the meal tonight. I’ll be having beans on toast or cheese so I hope he’s suitably grateful and will open a nice warming red. Well I opened it already to put a glug in his casserole.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.