A jaunt to the Lakes

I met #2 daughter at Chesters Fort this morning but we had no time for Roman ruins. I left my car and continued with her to visit an old friend in Cockermouth. We first met in the 60s teaching in the army school in Hong Kong then continued our friendship when we were living in Cyprus at the same time. She has known all the daughters since they were babies.

She is in poor health and her GP practice is still not seeing anyone in person. She has vertigo but has seen no one to have a diagnosis but has been sent for shaking therapy. She has serious rheumatoid arthritis and is on high powered drugs plus now she has back pain. She is waiting for the result of an X-ray. It’s so sad to see her just accepting all this - she’s a clever articulate person and I thought she’d have been writing letters and hassling. She lives alone so talked a lot about her great-nephews and nieces whom we’ve never met yet showed no interest in #2 daughter when she tried to tell her about her 2 new jobs. It’s so sad.

Anyway I was glad to have daughter’s company - we decided that Mr C should not come - he is still negative but just in case- we don’t want to add Covid to her troubles.

It was a gorgeous drive but 6 hours round trip is a lot so I’m sitting down for a glass of wine with my dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.