Torver Bridge

After a delightful swim in Windermere , Mr P whisked me off to Coniston and up the Walna Scar Road so that I could eat lunch on Walna Scar; the highest Wainwright Outlying Fell at 621m. Its a bit of a cheat really because there's a nice big car park at about 200m.  The road is ancient, possibly medieval being a route from Furness Abbey to Coniston for the wool trade  and archaeologists reckon it might be Bronze age. Any way, here the road goes over the packhorse bridge over Torver Beck. 
My hill bagging app tells me that Walna Scar is not only an Outlying Fell but its also a Nuthall and a Birkett???  Why do these hills have so many random names.
View from the top in extras, looking east; if I'd had binoculars I might have been able to see the Isle of Man

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.