Remembered with smiles

This, my mother's birthday, has become a special day for me, the day I wander in the wonder, a day on which I've slowly learnt to give thanks for what is rather than mourn what was.

Almost without fail it's a day I choose to seek solitude in the high places, to be geographically apart whilst I try to find the ways to connect.

But not this year.

This year it seemed right to ask my all growed up baby brother if he'd like to join me, covid life lessons learnt, spend as much time as you can with those you love.

We talked as much as we walked and we walked a long ways. Up over Striding Edge, we left the crowds on Helvellyn's summit and traversed Nethermost Pike and Dollywagon before a steep drop back into Grisedale . As ever it was a special privilege to be part of someone's first visit to my cathedral, to see the wonderment in their eyes.
I have to believe there's a special providence at play on this my most meaningful day. Every April 9th since we lost her has been magnificent, today a contender for best yet, smiles all around, even those but remembered.

Philosophy Friday
"When I genuinely love I am extending myself and
when I am extending myself I am growing. The more I
love, the longer I love, the larger I become. Genuine
love is a self-replenishing magic.
The more I nurture the spiritual growth of others, the
more my own spiritual growth is nurtured."
(M. Scott Peck)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.