A Dad memory

Today is 3 years since Dad passed away. While thinking about Dad and the end of his life, I remembered I have the bible Mum gave him when they were engaged in November, 1950.

It's the King James version and while Dad preferred a modern translation, he always kept this bible with the lovely inscription from Mum. I realised too that it was the bible he took to church when I was very young.

Curious I unzipped the cover and immediately remembered this picture. During chirch he'd entertain me as I became restless by showing me the treasures he kept in his bible.

I loved the pictures like this one and he'd whisper to me what they were - like this one, the boy who gave his bread and fishes to feed the crowd. I don't know why he kept this one. It has possibly Cantonese writing on it and dates back to the late 40s amd early 50s when he lived in Hong Kong as a ships engineer.

I've worked my first 5.5 hour day today. My brain felt it and I'm tired. It's another concussion recovery achievement.

Today's gratitude: For remembering gentle and close moments with Dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.