Trek

Day off ...and beautiful sunny one. Dithered a bit about what to do then decided to take the bus out to Currie (top deck, front seat of course as a nod to Winsford!) and pick up the Water of Leith path back into the city. Listening to a new book on the way... The Hoarder by Jess Kidd which drew me in and I think will turn out to be a good one. Lots of wild garlic and fading daffodils, and lots of buds starting to open on the trees. The water was sparkling - good choice for a walk. I’d never seen the graffiti tunnel near Colinton before....what a feat!
Swapped onto the canal at Slateford and enjoyed the increasingly busy stretch as I got into the city...canoes, paddle boarders, and moored canal boats.
Stopped in at the bike shop to ask about and look around the e-bikes. I’d love one, but can’t work out where I could keep one safely whilst I live here since there’s no way I could get it in and out of the basement and nowhere else would probably be safe enough. Frustrating.
Decided to reward myself for my 9 mile trek by stopping at the pizza van on the Meadows...they do such fabulous fresh pizzas from their wood oven. I chose one with Gorgonzola, pear and walnuts which was delicious although A LOT of cheese...just as well I was nearly home as I really needed a long lie down after the both the walk and the bellyful!
Tea and relaxed all the rest of the afternoon, doing some online browsing and planning. It was only when I switched the radio on later and found wall to wall commemorations that I realised Prince Philip had died. Remember the one time I met him when I was somewhat shocked by his conversation and views. Luckily, just before our Saudi guests arrived someone managed to distract him with talk of left handedness and art so we were all more relaxed and on message by the time they arrived.
Clearly there have been obituaries written and retrospective films put together and kept in a drawer for many years in readiness for today, and my goodness the broadcasters and news sites really swung into action like well oiled machines, but the funeral plans are going to have to be hugely scaled back given Covid. Cannot begin to imagine what it will be like when the Queen finally goes... Although I’m not a royalist I do feel for her as a woman losing her husband after such a long marriage, and particularly given that she can’t have her family around her. So many have had to cope with lonely bereavements and scaled back funerals over this last year because of this wretched virus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.